Welcome

Welcome to my blog. This is a forum where I can comment on evolution, physiology, adaptation, what we have right, and where I think we’ve gone wrong.

These thoughts come from a long journey through the problem of evolution. I say “problem” not because I disbelieve in evolution, but because there is much about how we think about it that doesn’t make sense. I have worked through this issue in three books:

The Extended Organism. The Physiology of Animal-Built Structures (2000). Harvard University Press. The Extended Organism took a critical look at the phenomenon of adaptation.

The Tinkerer’s Accomplice. How Design Emerges from Life Itself (2007). Harvard University Press. The Tinkerer’s Accomplice explored the phenomenon of design-why do living things conform so often to principles of good design.

Purpose and Desire. What Makes something “Alive” and How Modern Darwinism has Failed to Explain It (2017). HarperOne. Purpose and Desire explores the incoherency that permeates modern Darwinism, and offers my proposal to bring coherency back to evolutionary thought, and to how we think about life. Hint: most biologists won’t like my answer. Purpose and Desire will be released on 12 September 2017.

You can also visit my Author’s Page on amazon.

Leave a Reply

